Werris Creek Lions Club Changeover 2014

The Lions Club of Werris Creek held their annual Changeover Dinner on Saturday June 21. The evening was hosted at the Werris Creek Golf Club and marked the events 36th year.

During the night, Chairman Peter Hollaway announced, in his Executive Report, that the club had donated $7,000 to Local Charities and other Lions Club worthy causes throughout the past year. Peter thanked Lions Club members and their partners for assisting with catering at functions and for participating in the many Lions projects run over the past 12 months.

Just some of the many activities that the Werris Creek Lions Club has been involved with over the past year include Meals on Wheels, an Australia Day BBQ for the Werris Creek Pharmacy, Carols by Candlelight, cleaning of the main street and Lions Park toilets, the Werris Creek Public School Fete, planting and mulching at the Rail Museum garden and supporting the Currabubula Art Show.

Lion Harold Durrant presented the Citizenship Award to Dennis Landrigan and the Courtesy Award to Janette Marr. He also presented Pauline Woods with a gift for selecting the recipients of these titles. Brenda Constable, Clare Stewart, Allison McCarthy and Rebecca Caterer were the other nominees for these awards. The Lions Club of Werris Creek is very thankful for the support of all the nominees and award recipients and hopes that they will keep up the good work for years to come.

During the evening, Zone 10 Chairman John Hook inducted the 2014/15 Lions Club of Werris Creek Board. Incoming President Gerard McLellan ceremonially took the gong from the gong gavel to symbolise the undertaking of his new role.

The new board consists of Gerard McLellan as President, Doug Durrant as Secretary, Warren Brown as Treasurer, Nicole Jeffreys as Past President, Harold Durrant as Tail Twister, Jamie Durrant as Lion Tamer and Merv Constable, Russell White and Craig Jeffreys as 1st, 2nd and 3rd Vice Presidents.

1 year Directors are Brad Lockrey and Vic Porter and 2 year Directors are Kevin Dunshea and Peter Holloway. Wayne Moyer is Event Coordinator and responsible for Australia Day activities, Gerard McLellan is Park Chairman, Brad Lockrey is Safety Officer, Douglas Durrant is Public Officer and responsible for Christmas Cake activities, Warren Brown is in charge of Lions Mints and Merv Constable is co-ordinator for Christmas Carols. 2014/15 Board Members are Margaret Drakos, Nole Horton, Jennifer Hicks and Marilyn Deeks.

Comments are closed.